Skip Navigation LinksTeams > Team Help

Team Frequently Asked Questions



What is a team?
Teams are a place where students, families, or classrooms can create their own reading challenges or book groups. Any group of Book Adventure users can form their own team.

Who can create a team?
Any Book Adventure user - students, parents, and teachers - can create a team. But, only students are able to quiz on books to earn points as part of a team.

How do I create a team?
To create a team, please complete these steps:
  1. Log in to your Home Student, School Student, Parent or Teacher account
  2. Go to your "My Teams" page
  3. Click on the "Create a Team" link
  4. You will be prompted to enter a team name. Once you click the "Submit," button, the website will automatically create and display a Team Pin Number, which cannot be changed.
  5. Your team has now been created. Provide the team name and pin number to anyone you'd like to join your team.
How do I join a team?
To join a team, please do the following:
  1. Log in to your Home Student, School Student, Parent, or Teacher account
  2. Go to your "My Teams" page
  3. Click on the "Join a Team" link
  4. You will be prompted to enter your team name and pin number. Once you click the "Submit," button, you will be automatically added to the team entered
  5. If you no longer wish to participate in the team, or have joined the wrong team, you should click on the "Remove Myself from This Team" button on your "My Teams" page. NOTE: A warning box will appear, because if you proceed with removing yourself from the team, you cannot undo the process. While you will keep the points that you have earned in your own account, the points will be removed from the team. This action cannot be undone if you click “yes” to proceed.
How long will a user remain part of a team?
Once a team member has joined a team, they will remain a part of that team until:
  • The team member removes themselves from the team
  • The team leader removes a particular member from the team

How are points accumulated as part of the team?
While a part of a team, every quiz that a team member completes and any points that are earned are applied to the team member’s individual account as well as the team’s cumulative score.

If at anytime the team leader deems that the team’s activity needs to be reset, team leaders have the functionality to clear the team’s activity and start over. In this case, the team's points would be reset to zero, but a student's individual points would remain in his or her's account.

Can team members still redeem points for prizes while participating in a team?
Yes. Team members earn individual points for the quizzes they complete. They can redeem them for the prizes available in the Prize Library. Redeeming the points for prizes while a member of a team will not effect the cumulative score that is recorded in the Team Report.

What is a team pin number?
A team pin number is basically a password created for a team. It is a combination of letters and numbers that the website automatically assigns to each team. The pin number cannot be changed.

I have forgotten my pin number. What do I do?
Please contact your Team Leader to obtain your password. If you are a Team Leader and have forgotten your password, please email Book Adventure at Book.Adventure@SylvanLearning.com with your user name and the team name to receive your team pin number.

How can I view my team's progress?
You can view your team’s progress report at anytime. To do so, log in to your account and go to your "My Teams" page. From there, you can select a team and click on the "View Team Report" button.

How do I clear my team’s activity?
A team leader may clear a team’s activity any time they wish on their "My Teams" page. Once on your "My Team" page, select the team for which you would like to clear the points and select the "Clear Team Activity" button. NOTE: A warning box will appear, because if you proceed with clearing your team’s activity from the website, it cannot be undone. The team’s activity will be reset to zero and you will have to begin the reading challenge from the beginning. This action cannot be undone if you click “yes” to proceed.

How can I delete a team?
If you no longer want to continue with your team or if you create a team in error, a Team Leader may delete the team through their "My Teams" page. Once on your "My Teams" page, select the team you would like to delete and click the "Delete Team" button.NOTE: A warning box will appear, because if you proceed with deleting the team from the website, it cannot be undone. The team will be permanently removed. This action cannot be undone if you click “yes” to proceed.

Alternatively, you may wish to just de-activate a team for a period of time. This can be used if you wish to save your team's data but do not want to actively participate in a team. To de-activate the team, within your "My Teams" page, select the team you would like to de-activate and then click on the "De-Activate Team" button. You will be able to re-activate this time whenever you choose by clicking on the "Re-Activate Team" button.

I still need help.
If you are a team member and have questions regarding your team, please contact your Team Leader. Team Leaders, if you have questions, email Book Adventure at Book.Adventure@SylvanLearning.com. Please include your user name and team name when submitting questions so we can best assist you.